• Discipline
  • Self Reliance
  • Excellence

  • Welcome to department of PHYSICS AND INDUSTRIAL PHYSICS

    The physics and industrial physics discipline is unique because it provides a focus for convergence of technologies. Its uniqueness naturally defines its role and dictates its increasing relevance in several disciplines and modern practices and techniques. The scope of application of physics and industrial physics in the modern scientific and technological context is, therefore, infinitely wide. Students are equipped in the Department and are thus encouraged to function, research and engage in collaborative projects in wide professional contexts.

    : . HISTORY


    BRIEF HISTORY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS AND INDUSTRIAL PHYSICS The Department of Industrial Physics was established in 1982 in the then Anambra State University of Technology. When the University was taken over by the Federal Government in 1992 and the University became a conventional University, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, the department was renamed Physics and Industrial Physics and reflect new status of the department. The Department structure comprises of the Head of Department, the academic staff, technical staff, administrative staff and students.



    September 2014 till Date...


    OUR MISSION is To build a Department that would: (i) encourage excellence on the part of students and staff. (ii) encourage excellence in research and production. (iii) provide consultancy services in areas of Physics and allied disciplines. (iv) provide conducive environment for excellent inter-personal relationship among staff and students.


    OUR VISION is To rank first among the Department of Physics in the Federation when judges from the quality of our graduates, the quality of our research work and our national and international recognition. To diversify our curriculum to cover most of the areas where knowledge of Physics is needed for the advancement of man, science and technology.

    The broad aim is to produce and train both theoretical and practically sound Physicists who will be able to make meaningful contributions towards technological development of our nation. The basic objectives of the B.Sc. Programme include among others: (i) to teach the students the basic scientific concepts which they can apply in solving physical problems. (ii) to equip the students with the knowledge needed for industrial manpower and growth. (iii) to impart knowledge in the theoretical and practical Physics necessary for career growth in the oil and gas industry, research institutes, banks, ICT and other areas of self sufficiency.(iv) produce well disciplined graduates who will excel in the public service and even politics.

    Department NEWS More News »
    25-29th, April, APRIL 25, 2016  

    UPCOMING EVENTS More Events »

    Admission Requirements

    Students intending to study Physics and Industrial Physics are admitted mainly through the university Matriculation Examination (UME) now Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME), Direct Entry of Joint Admission Matriculation Board (JAMB), Prescience Programme of the University and also through the Continuing Education Programme (C.E.P) of the University. From 1992, the Department of Physics and Industrial Physics has been offering Undergraduate Programme leading to the award Bachelor of Science Degree in Physics and Industrial Physics. This programme is for a period of four years for students admitted through UTME and Prescience Programme and three years for students admitted through the Direct Entry of JAMB. The same programme is offered to the students of Continuing Education Programme (C.E.P) but over six years period. Industrial Training for undergraduate students (SIWES) of six month duration at the beginning of second semester of the third year of study is required for regular students and also for C.E.P students but this time at the beginning of second semester of their fifth year. REQUIREMENTS (A) Admission through Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME): Candidates should posses at least 5"O" level credit passes including English language, Mathematics, Physics plus any other two subjects and at least a pass in Chemistry in not more than two sittings in SSCE, WAEC,  NECO or their approved equivalent examination. (B) Direct Entry: In addition to UTME requirements candidates should posses at least two "A" level passes in Physics and Mathematics. A pass at the merit level in a relevant diploma programme maybe accepted and passes in at least two major relevant subjects in the NCE is also accepted for Direct Entry admission.



      Contact Information



    Contact details
    ADDRESS OF THE MAIN CAMPUS:: Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka (Main Campus),
    Along Enugu - Onitsha Express Way, Awka Anambra State
    POSTAL ADDRESS:: Nnamdi Azikwe University Awka, Anambra State, PMB 5025 , Awka - Nigeria
    EMAIL:: info@unizik.edu.ng

    © copyright 2018 Nnamdi Azikiwe University. All rights reserved       www.unizik.edu.ng ©2018