Department of Philosophy

History of the Department

The Department of Philosophy was created as a unit in the Department of Arts in 1997/1998 with Dr. Godalex Ezeani as the Coordinator and an intake of twelve pioneer students. Since its inception, the Department has grown in leaps and bounds in the development of its programmes, and facilities, and in the strength of its staff and students.  Currently, the Department runs regular and continuing education B.A. Programmes as well as Postgraduate Programmes at the M.A. and Ph.D levels.

The Department has also grown to be leading light in the Nigerian Philosophy community and the larger society through the organization of lectures, workshops, seminars and conferences.


Vision Statement

To grow into a global centre of philosophy that springs forth universal principles of being, founded on the fundamental value of the human person.


Mission Statement

To produce world-class scholars who will become leading voices in the  course of human history.


Scholarships and Awards

As part of the celebration of the 2006 UNESCO World Philosophy Day in Nnamdi Azikiwe University, the Departmental Board established a Foundation to assist students in need and to motivate brilliant ones through scholarship awards.

So far, seven endowments have been made in the Foundation as follows:

  1. Gabriel and Elizabeth Odimegwu Foundation
  2. Cezony Ventures Nig Ltd Foundation
  3. Val Okwui Agbaka Foundation
  4. Chief Ifeanyichukwu Egwuim Foundation
  5. Sir John Odike Foundation
  6. Jude Okeama Foundation
  7. Archbishop Valerian M. Okeke Foundation

Currently, the scholarship awards operate in the form of tuition credits to students.  Students of the Department of Philosophy are eligible for these awards.  The Departmental Scholarship Committee shall each year, publish the guidelines and invite applications from students for the relevant awards.

Students should note the deadline for receipt of applications.  Applications are considered and approved by the committee.  The names of successful applicants are posted on the Departmental Notice Board. Also Chief Nkwo Nnabuchi underwrites prices for best students in selected courses in the department as a product of monthly philosophy lecturers organized by Rev. Fr. Dr. Bonachristus Umeogu as then Head of Department.


Affiliate Institute

Pope John Paul II Major Seminary, Awka

Rector: Rev. Fr. Dr. Benjamin Ewelu

Dean of Philosophy: Rev. Fr. Dr. Linus Okika