Foundation and Staff History

The foundation staff of the Department comprised seven lecturers and two laboratory as follows:

  1. J.N. Aguigwo         – Senior Lecturer and Head of Department
  2. O.O. Njioku         – Reader
  3. M.A. Anizoba         – Senior Lecturer
  4. P.C.O. Ilozumba – Senior Lecturer
  5. L.A. Nwuba         – Senior Lecturer
  6. S.C. Ewuim         – Senior Lecturer
  7. C.I. Nsofor         – Senior Lecturer
  8. C.C. Eze         – Senior Technologist
  9. B. Aziagba         -Laboratory Supervisor

Headship of the Department since 2000

S/N  Name                       Rank                                        Date


  1. J.N Aguigwo         – Senior Lecturer         -2000/2001;2001/2002
  2. O.O Njoku              -Reader                        -2002/2003;2003/2004
  3. L. A. Nwuba         -Senior Lecturer           -2005/2006
  4. C.I Nsofor               -Senior Lecturer        -2006/2007
  5. M. A. Anizoba       – Reader                        -2007/2008
  6. M.A. Anizoba        -Professor                     -2008/2009;2009/2010
  7. L.A. Nwuba          – Professor                     -2010/2011;-
  8. S.C Ewuim           – Professor                      -2011/2012
  9. J.J. Okeke             -Senior Lecturer          -2012/2013
  10. C.I. Nsofor            -Professor                      -2013  – date



 Academic Staff Profile


S/N                        NameAcademic Qualifications And awarding institutionsRankSpecialization/ Research interest
1.Prof. L.A. NwubaB. Sc (Hons) (ABU); M.S.c. Ed. (ABU)         M.Sc. (NAU); PH.D (NAU)Professor Applied fisheries    and Aquaculture.


2.Prof. S.C. EwuimB. Sc (Hons) (lfe); M.S.c. (lfe) PGDE (UNN); PH.D (NAU)ProfessorEcology and Entomology
3.Prof. O. O. NjokuB.Sc, M.Sc., PhDProfessorAnimal Physiology
4.Prof. C.I NsoforB. Sc (Hons) (Jos); M.S.c.(Ibadan) PH.D (NAU)ProfessorApplied  Fisheries and Aquaculture
5.Dr. P.C. IlozumbaB.S.c (Hons); Ph. D (UNN)ReaderParasitology
6.Dr. J.J OkekeB.Sc (Hons) (Jos); M.Sc (Jos) Ph.DReaderApplied Fisheries Hydrobiology and Bio-conservation
7.Dr. C.I. EbenebeB. Agric. Tech (Akure); M.Sc (Ibadan) Ph.D (NAU)ReaderAnimal Ecology & Bio-conservation
8.Dr. C.E. AkunneB.Sc (Hons) (ASUTECH); M.Sc (NAU); MLS(IMSU)ReaderEntomology/Pest Management
9.Dr. A. N. UfeleNCE(Alvan); B.Sc(Hons) (UNN) M.Sc (UNN); Ph.D.(UNN)ReaderAnimal Physiology
10.Dr. I. A. IkehB.Sc, M.Sc. PhDSenior LecturerParasitology
11.Dr. T. C MogboB. Sc (Hons) (NAU); M.Sc (NAU)Lecturer IAnimal Ecology
12.Dr. C. D  EzeonyejiakuB.Sc (Hons) (NAU); M.Sc (NAU)Lecturer IParasitology and Environmental Pollution Mgt.
13.Mrs. O. AribodohB.Sc, M.Sc.Lecturer IIParasitology


Administrative Staff

S/NO    Name          Qualification                    Rank


  1. C.C. Eze         ND; HND, PGD          Chief Laboratory Technologist
  2. E.L. Ehiaghe Dip (NST);B.Sc (Hons) Chief Laboratory Technologist
  3. Ifeanyi Obika B. Sc.                                Lab. Technologist
  4. Uzoh-Chigozie Ngozi Dorathy Sc.                Lab. Technologist
  5. Anusolu Ebele A. Sc.                        Principal Executive Officer II
  6. Miss I. Onwubiko Sc                         Executive Officer
  7. C.P. Obiegbu         Office Supervisor
  8. Udeh Collins Lab Assistant
  9. Osoko Angela                                         Clerical Officer

Members of Sub-Committee on Students’ Handbook Production

Dr. Chidi E. Akunne            -Chairman

Dr. J. J. Okeke                   -Member