TETFUND National Research Fund (NRF) Grant 2019 awarded to Prof Ikemefuna C. Uzochukwu

Prof Ikemefuna Chijioke Uzochukwu is the Principal Investigator of theTETFUND National Research Fund (NRF) Grant 2019 (TETFUND/DR&R/CE/NRF/STI/68/Vol1) titled ‘Drug repurposing for Lassa fever virus: a new treatment option’.

Prof Ikemefuna Uzochukwu is a Pharmacist, Public Analyst, Supply Chain Expert and Professor of Medicinal Chemistry. He was the former Dean, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, Anambra State.

The approved project budget is 35 million Naira only. The project duration is 24 months. The study is in collaboration with lrrua Specialist Teaching Hospital, Irrua, Edo State, Nigeria and Evans Baroque Ltd, Lagos, Nigeria.

Other members of the research team are

In silico Group:

  1. Dr Fortunatus C. Ezebuo
  2. Dr InnocentMary Ejiofor
  3. Pharm Innocent Okpoli
  4. Pharm Mercy Adebola
  6. Prof Ikechukwu Okoli

In vitro Group:

  1. Dr Uju Okaa
  2. Mr Chukwudi Ofodile
  3. Mr Ekene Ebonam

Clinical Trial Group:

  • Dr Ephraim Ogbaini-Emovon
  • Dr Chinwe Uzuke (Biostatistician)
  • Dr Chukwuanugo Ogbuagu
  • Dr Obinna Ekwunife

Contact: [email protected]

Phone: +234 8035476925 More information can be found at www.tetfund.gov.ng