Non-academic staff union of Education and associated institutions (NASU), is an organisation whose aim is to protect the interest and welfare of its memebers, both internally and nationally. NASU in UNIZIK Awka branch achieves its goals through liaison, dialogue and cooperation with the university management.



The relationship between NASU and University Management in UNIZIK is always cordial. More often than not, NASU commends the Vice-Chancellor , Prof. Joseph Eberendu Ahanekwu FAS, for his cooperation and assistance to the Union Members.



NASU UNIZIK, Awka also plays a vital role in the area of empowering its members e.g distribution of motorcycles, electronics, acquisition of land for its members at subsidized prices and she currently has the intention of distributing shuttle buses to her members at subsidized rates.

NASU UNIZIK Awka has through the support and approval of our amiable Vice-Chancellor, acquired a piece of land in the university for her proposed branch secretariat.


NASU has her National Headquarters at Abuja as the National Secretariat of the Union which coordinates the administration of previous branches nation-wide. Also, the Union has a branch at every state of the federation. The National President is Comrade Ani, the National Secretary is Comrade Prince Peter Adeyemi, while the state council chairman is Comrade Luke Nweke.


Since the inception of NASU UNIZIK Chapter, the union has passed through various leaders as indicated hereunder

  1. Comrade Chief Patrick N.C Nweke              1987-1999
  2. Comrade Betram Anene 1999-2003
  3. Comrade Nanimebile Clement 2003-2011
  4. Comrade Chief Pius Okonkwo(FNAEC) 2011-2015
  5. Comrade Charles Onyebuchi 2015-till date



NASU NAU chapter commends the current Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Joseph E. Ahanekwu, FAS for the rapid transformation of UNIZIK and for the love he has for the branch union. Long live NASU, long live UNIZIK and Long live our amiable Vice-Chancellor.