Unizik: Lecture Series Honoring Igwe Alfred Achebe Coming Soon

By Franklin Onwubiko

Members of the Obi Alfred Achebe Lecture Series Committee held an extensive meeting with the Obi of Onitsha, Igwe Alfred Achebe, at the Acting Vice-Chancellor’s office on Wednesday to further discuss the modalities for advancing the terms of reference ideals for the Committee’s set up.

The Committee Chairman, Prof. Godwin Onu noted that the imperative of honouring, recognizing, and immortalizing distinguished individuals, regardless of their origins such like Agbogidi is very remarkable.

According to him, following Senate’s approval, the Vice-Chancellor established a standing committee to oversee the Series. Beyond the lecture series, the committee envisions a center dedicated to Igbo culture, including a smart dome featuring a library, conference rooms, and an environment capturing the essence of Igbo history and heritage. This center aims to provide a comprehensive perspective on the Igbo people for visitors from around the world.

Prof. Onu highlighted that the purpose of the meeting was to discuss the modalities for the lecture series and to advance the project’s goals.

The Acting Vice-Chancellor, Professor Joseph Ikechebelu, described the project as an ambitious endeavor that extends beyond a lecture series. He praised Igwe Achebe as a prominent traditional ruler whose significant contributions to the Igbo nation remained indelible. He stated that the university would leverage Igwe Achebe’s extensive contacts and connections to elevate the project’s status globally.

Igwe Achebe congratulated Prof. Ikechebelu on his appointment as Acting Vice-Chancellor, while appreciating the University for the honor of the lecture series, noting that the project would foster collaboration between Onitsha and the university, as both are working towards similar goals. He further commended Prof. Onu for his determination and acknowledged the progress already made.

In his vote of thanks, committee member Prof. Jaja Nwanegbo appreciated the Obi and assured the committee’s commitment to the project.

Members of the committee include Prof. Greg Obiamalu, Prof. Carol Arinze-Umobi, Prof Patrick Egbunike, Dr. Chinedu Mbalisi and Mrs Urenna Okamgba.