Department of Botany


Botany had always been part of the curriculum of the Department of Applied Biology since

The inception of the latter in 1982 in the former Anambra State University of Technology

(ASUTECH), Awka/Enugu, the Awka Campus of which, in 1992, transformed into the

Present Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka.

The Department of Applied Biology had, however, gone through a number of name changes


  1. Department of Applied Biology, 1982-1988.
  2. Department of Parasitlogy and Entomology/Applied Biology, 1989-1994.
  3. Department of Biological Sciences, 1995-2001.

Even before the emergence of Botany as a separate Department in 2002, the Botany

Curriculum had been part and parcel of the academic programme of the above Department

On each occasion, with its full complement of staff and students. Botany was even

Accredited as an option of the former Department of Biological Sciences when the NUC

Accreditation team visited the University in 1999.NUC re-visited for re-accreditation in

2005 and the Department got full accreditation also.

  1. Finally, in the 2001/2002 session, the sub-department of Botany was created by an

Act of Senate as a separate department out of former department of Biological

Sciences, along with the department of parasitology and Entomology and Zoology.


Since Botany became an option in the former department of Biological Sciences in 1995,

Students have been graduating in the option. And now, the department even runs

Postgraduate programmes at the postgraduate Diploma (PG.D), Master (M.Sc) and

Doctor of philosophy (Ph.D) levels.