The National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT), Nnamdi Azikiwe University branch started as Association of University Technologists (ASUTON) from the year 2000 with Late Mr. Oraka as the pioneer Chairman.

The regime of Late Oraka took the association to greater heights, with the emergence of Engr. Alex Okafor as the chairman taking over from late Mr. Oraka, with sir Theo Ubaezeonu as the secretary. This regime came to an end in 2006. Dr. E.E Bassey came on board in 2006 as the chairman with Mr. D.I Mgbojikwe as the secretary. Fortunately in the course of Dr. Bassey’s administration, the association metamorphosed into the National Association of Academic Technologists(NAAT) on November 2007 and duly registered under the provisions of trade union ACT CAP 473 of 1990 as amended by the trade unions Amendment Act. 1996 of Nigeria.

Dr. Bassey eventually handed over to the present regime under the leadership of Rev. C.C Eze, in August 2010 with Dr. G.O Ogbuozobe as the secretary.

NAAT has really come a long way in this university and since its inception has maintained a very cordial relationship with the University Administration.

NAAT is focused to continue this amiable relationship as far as its founding philosophy sustains.