Faculty of Engineering

Nnamdi Azikiwe University has a strong Faculty of Engineering, which started at the inception of the University in 1992. The Faculty is being developed to acquire the status of a leading Faculty of Engineering in the country.

Philosophy of the Faculty

To achieve the goals and objectives of the National Policy on Industrialization and self reliance, the Faculty of Engineering and Technology is geared toward

a. The development of indigenous manpower through practice of engineering and industrial training

b. The development of a broader-based practical application of Engineering, Technology and Manufacturing processes

c. New frontiers in Engineering education, research and development

The Faculty’s general goals are the production of graduates of high academic quality and adequate practical background for self employment and global industrialization.

The Faculty consists of the following departments:

  1. Department of Agriculture and Bio-resources Engineering
  2. Department of Chemical Engineering
  3. Department of Civil Engineering
  4. Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering
  5. Department of Electrical Engineering
  6. Department of Industrial/Production Engineering
  7. Department of Mechanical Engineering
  8. Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  9. Department of Polymer and Textile Engineering